Garters and Wraps Cup Hug

Uncategorized

So I have been on a long and arduous search for the perfect little cup hug. My luck turned up only what needed to be paid for or cabled. 

So I decided to make my own! I am also more than happy to share the pattern with you!

You will need: 

  
Any kind of worsted yarn. I used some scrap I had 

  
5mm knitting needles. I had some double pointed needles but any 5mm will do

  
A tape measure

  
Scissors 

  
Buttons

  
Embroidery thread in the color of your button 

 A darning needle and sewing needle

  
And a mug of your choice!

What you want to do first is CO 4 stitches. I used the long tail cast on but you can use any kind you’re comfortable with.

Knit for two rows.

K2, yo, k2 this process leaves you with your button hole. Easy right?

Knit four rows.

Work an increase row by k1, yo, k4. That gives you 6 stitches. 

Knit one row.

This next row is going to be a two stitch increase row. You k1, yo then knit until one stitch remains. Yo again and knit the last stitch. 

Knit one row.

Continue the last two rows until you have 14 stitches.

Now you will work on the body of the cup hug. Knit until the cup hug is 1 1/2-2″ short of the birth of your mug. 

Once your length is reached start a decrease row. You will be decreasing two stitches each decrease row.

Knit 5 stitches, k2tog, ssk, knit 5

Knit one row

Knit 4 stitches, k2tog, ssk, knit 4

Knit one row

Repeat this process until there are four stitches remaining. 

Bind off.

Weave in ends. Attach your button and give your cup a hug! 

   
 
If my pattern resembles anyone else’s I apologize I happened to just think of this on my own. Please enjoy!

Leave a Reply

